1. Big Time Investor Group is opening an office in Dallas. Fixed monthly costs are office rent ($8,200), depreciation on office furniture ($1,500), utilities ($2,300), special telephone lines ($1,300), a connection with an online brokerage service ($2,900) and the salary of a financial planner ($11,800). Variable costs include payment to the financial planner (9% of revenue), advertising (12% of revenue), supplies and postage (4% of revenue) and usage fees for telephone lines and computerized brokerage service (5% of revenue).;Requirements;1. Use the contribution margin ratio CVP formula to compute Big Time?s break-even revenue in dollars. If the average trade leads to $800 in revenue for Big Time how many trades must be made to break even?;2. Use the income statement equation approach to compute the dollar revenues needed to earn a target monthly operating income of $11,200.;3. Graph Big Time?s CVP relationships. Assume that an average trade leads to $800 in revenue for Big Time. Show the breakeven point, the sales revenue line, the fixed cost line, the total cost line, the operating lost area, the operating income area and the sales in units (trades) and dollars when monthly operating income of $11,200 is earned. The graph should range from 0-80 units.;4. Suppose that the average revenue that Big Time earns increases to $900 per trade. Compute the new breakeven point in trades. How does this effect the new breakeven point?;2. Roots Exteriors produces exterior sidings for homes. The preparation department begins with wood, which is chopped into small bits. At the end of the process and adhesive is added. Then the wood/adhesive mixture goes on to the compression department where the wood is compressed into sheets. Conversion costs are added evenly throughout the preparation process. March Data for the preparation process is as follows;Sheets;Costs;Beginning work in process inventory;0 sheets;Beginning work in process inventory;$0;Started Production;3,300 sheets;Costs adding during March;Completed and transferred out to;Wood;2,600;Compression in March;1,900 sheets;Adhesives;1,365;Direct Labor;640;Ending Work in Process inventory (45% of the way through the preparation process);1,400 sheets;Manufacturing Overhead;2,445;Total Costs;$7,050;1. Draw a time line for the preparation department;2. Use the timeline to help you compute the equivalent. (Hint: Each direct material added at a different point in the production process requires it?s own equivalent unit computation.;3. Compute the total cost?s of the units (sheets);a. Completed and transferred out to the Preparation Department;b. In the Preparation Departments ending work and process inventory;4. Prepare the journal entry to record the cost of the sheets completed and transferred out to the Compression Department;5. Post the journal entries to the work in process inventory -----Preparation T-Account. What is the ending balance?
Paper#79694 | Written in 18-Jul-2015Price : $27